Skip to content

Qualifications and National Standards

 In the last 20 years, most employment sectors have agreed up-to-date sets of standards - National Occupational Standards (NOS) - to describe competent performance in that occupational area.  This is a constantly-evolving area, and employees should think about whether they need to achieve a particular type of qualification or accreditation to help maintain their ability to work at a certain level, or to assist with their career and work-based development.

If you need to undertake a qualification linked to your job-role, you should discuss this with your employer.  Your annual appraisal discussion - the Personal Development & Performance Review scheme (PDPR) in South Gloucestershire Council - is the ideal opportunity to do this.  In most cases, the council can only consider supporting its own staff to achieve this kind of accreditation, for example if it is clearly related to a team's current service priorities.
Examples of this can include:
- A range of Vocational Qualifications: including for apprentices, both new staff and existing employees can follow this route.  These used to be NVQ's, but are now called QCF Diplomas, Certificates or Awards.
- Continuing Professional Development that is accredited in some form, for example short modules via a University, College or other external provider.
- Support to work towards varying levels of broader professional qualifications, for example in Finance, Social Work/Care, Engineering, ICT, HR etc.
Through our accredited Qualification Centre we can provide more direct support for vocational qualifications in a couple of occupational areas.  In some instances, these pathways can be accessed by non-council employees too.  Please note that charges apply in that situation; please contact us to discuss this further. Further information can be found by following this link.
MANAGEMENT & LEADERSHIP: Chartered Management Institute Management Qualifications 
We offer CMI Level 3 Certificates and Diplomas in First Line Management four times a year.  These qualifications offer you an opportunity to increase your confidence and skills in a range of management topics.  See the course detailsThis qualification is open to appropriate staff from any organisations.
Once a year there is also an opportunity for staff from South Gloucestershire, Bath & North East Somerset and North Somerset Council to join together and undertake a CMI Level 5 Diploma in Management and Leadership.  This programme consists of a series of days and assignments covering leading change, conducting a management project, meeting stakeholder and quality needs, leadership practice, resource management and managing team and individual performance.
If you are unsure what level qualification to undertake, please use this information below as a guide. 
Qualifications and National Standards

Login here to book a place on a course or access e-Learning



4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 
Use this calendar to display events based on start date.


Find out about how this website works

First Time Here




For Children’s Safeguarding and Foster Carers & Adopters e-learning

Click Here